Jessica – Day Eleven– July 13

Back to ETE Camp! The weather was extremely cool this morning, almost chilly! But it was good.  At camp, we started with our daily routine, attendance, stretching and breakfast.  In English class, the students met MJ, our new counselor and they practiced their conversations with her, by introducing themselves and asking her questions.  It was awesome and I was so happy to see that they had retained the information.  After that we reviewed the colors of the rainbow and had them identify (in English) various objects around the room and their colors. They got it! After our lunch and camp games, we headed home. Later on that night, I happened to step outside, while eating peanut butter sandwich crackers and JEREMY was doing jumping jacks, burpees and situps.  After every 3 burpees or so, I thought, I should be working out too.  Finally, after watching him work out for about, forever, I decided that I was going to move (walk/run/whatever).  Jeremy agreed to go on a run with me and then Zari decided to come along! So the three of us took a jog/walk down to the city limit, went a little further down and came back.  The residents thought it was the funniest thing to see us jogging down the street.  They kept making comments in Kreyol as we passed by: “The guy in front is fast.” (Jeremy) “The big girl is slow, she won’t keep up.” (haha, that was about me) “In this heat, those people are running?” “Hey big girl, keep going!” “Doesn’t he know that the cars will hit him?” (After Jeremy started zigzagging through the road, LOL) It was hysterical and we definitely gave the residents some entertainment.  It was very fun and felt very good to get my body moving. It’s time to relax and enjoy the rest of the evening. I have five days left so I’m trying to savor every last moment.

imageimage

image image

